WORKSHOP SERIES | FIVE SESSIONS

Akka Serverless Developer Workshop - Java edition

Hugh McKee, Developer Advocate at Lightbend, Inc.

 

Watch Recording

About the webinar

Serverless applications are rapidly gaining enterprise traction, yet truly mission-critical general purpose applications are not well served by stateless, Function-as-a-Service (FaaS) platforms.

Akka Serverless is the first and only developer platform that combines the scalability and ease of use of current serverless models with the responsiveness of fully stateful services into one managed, cloud-based environment. This lets developers save time and money, while reducing headaches like DB management and configuration.

This 5-part workshop series provides a guided tour of Akka Serverless in Java, and will focus on:

  • The WHY of Akka Serverless, and discovering our developer-focused features–like support for stateful and stateless services, and a hands-off approach to databases that takes care of all the management and configuration for you.
  • Working with the Akka Serverless development console and dashboard, and how to utilize the documentation and CLI effectively.
  • Testing and deploying various sample applications before building and releasing your own low-latency, high scalability stateful serverless Java application.

Workshops and dates (note: single registration includes all 5 parts):

  1. August 19 - 8:00am PT / 11:00am ET / 17:00 CET
    Part 1 (30-45 min) - Developer Set Up and Console Overview
  2. August 26 - 8:00am PT / 11:00am ET / 17:00 CET
    Part 2 (45-60 min) - Service Design and Code Kickstart
  3. September 9 - 8:00am PT / 11:00am ET / 17:00 CET
    Part 3 (45-60 min) - Stateful Service Integration, Pub/Sub, and Event Sourcing
  4. September 16 - 8:00am PT / 11:00am ET / 17:00 CET
    Part 4 (45-60 min) - Stateless Services, Views, and Actions
  5. September 23 - 8:00am PT / 11:00am ET / 17:00 CET
    Part 5 (45-60 min) - Containerization and Deployment

Prerequisites:

  1. To get a head start, feel free to visit the Akka Serverless open beta registration page to set up your account.
  2. Visit the Akka Serverless documentation to learn about the content we’ll be covering in this workshop series.
  3. Technologies required are JDK 8+ (JDK 11 is recommended), Apache Maven 3.6+, Docker 19.03+ (to run locally), and Linux, MacOS or Windows 10+.